Internet Anonymous

As you may have guessed from the not so subtle title of this post, I’m an internet addict!

You know how they say ignorance is bliss? Well whoever came up with that line was a fuckin’ genius!

All this time, I had no idea how addicted I was, then all of a sudden – BOOM! I came to the frightening realization that I’m actually a crackhead. Of course by “crackhead”, I mean a metaphorical crackhead; My crack being the internet.

So how did I come to this sad and scary realization?

Good question, but unfortunately I don’t have a good interesting answer to complement it. So here goes –

Some few weeks ago, I came across this website called Rescue Time. It installs a bot (or something) on your system that calculates the amount of time you spend on your computer, then sends you weekly updates of your Computer-habits. What’s awesome about this thing is that it not only tells you how much time you spend on the computer, but what you spend that time on.

It was all good and fun – until I received this email…

IN THE LAST 7 DAYS:

I’ve been on my computer –

8 Hrs 48 Mins on Sunday.

10 Hrs 11 Mins on Monday.

7 Hrs 16 Mins on Tuesday.

11 Hrs 38 Mins on Wednesday.

8 Hrs 25 Mins on Thursday.

8 Hrs 45 Mins on Friday.

Today is Saturday, and so far I’ve had 4 Hrs 56 Mins (And the day only started 6 hours ago).

That’s roughly 60 Hours of me being on my computer in the 168 Hours in a week. After a rough mathematical calculation, It came to my attention that: I only have about 110 Hours to myself. Take the 8 – 10 Hours I have for sleep everyday out of the equation, and I’m left with roughly 50 hours. Take those 50 hours and divide them by 7; And I’m left with a shocking 7 hours in a day.

What’s even more scary is not the time I spend on the computer, but what I spend it on:

Top 3 categories: Fun, Arts and IM.

In Fun you’ll see VLC, Media Player Classic & iTunes, which I use to watch Movies, TV Series and listen to music respectively.

In Arts, you’ll find Celtx and GIMP (About the only two semi-productive things I do). Celtx is this really awesome script-writing software, and GIMP is the best adobe photoshop substitute out there.

I’m a whore for IM. I have Google Talk, Yahoo Messenger, MSN, AIM, and I even use Spaz to update my Twitter.

In between the top 3 and the bottom, you’ll find e-mail, facebook, twitter, Spill, IMDB, wikipedia, several blogs and a lot of other things, but down there…

Bottom 3: News, Search and Personal Productivity.

I don’t really listen or read news, maybe I’ll tell you why some other day.

I google everything. In fact I google so much that if I want to go out, I google which of my three colognes goes best with the look I’m going for. OK, that’s a lie, but I GOOGLE A LOT! Search is down there because it only takes a few seconds. 

I don’t even know what personal productivity means, but when I checked, it’s all this Calender, Planner and Schedule Manager. Who even makes use these things?

So…

Even though this past week was my one week mid-semester break, I still think what I have is pretty much addiction. Now that that’s out there, I want to start my 12-step Process, and what’s even cool is that number one is already out of the way… so who can help me?

Please… I don’t want to end up with a bluetooth and wireless antennas sticking out of my hair…

5 Responses to “Internet Anonymous”


  1. 1 esotericsean August 9, 2008 at 11:28 am

    Hmm, I’m going to have to try Rescue Team. I work 8 hours straight on a computer and then come home to use my computer until I go to bed. Can’t be healthy 😦

  2. 2 spyda August 9, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    Oh yea, Rescue Time is great. You’d be surprised about the amount of time you spend on the computer. Sometimes I wonder if it really is telling the truth. But it’s a machine, it can’t lie can it 😉

  3. 3 Shusheel August 16, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    i am an addict.

    Lets start and IA class for all of us. haha lets do it online 😛

  4. 4 spyda August 17, 2008 at 12:41 pm

    an IA support online… Perfect!

  5. 5 Drama August 17, 2008 at 10:43 pm

    its a brilliant idea isnt it!


Leave a Reply

