The College Diary

There I was, sitting in a very big hall full of weird strangers half of whom were as confused as I was. It was quiet, in the sense that no one was talking. The only sound came from an army of rolling black pens mercilessly devouring helpless white sheets of paper. Look at all these poor bastards spilling ink like their lives depended on it, I though to myself. Sadly, I’m one of them. But how did I get here?

Twelve hours before that, I was in a place that closely resembles a prison cafeteria. But when the big old sun goes to bed, and the little stars sneak out to play, it doubles as a study hall for the poor souls known universally by the same sad pathetic name – Students.

There I was, like an out-of-job poor man’s music producer desperately trying to prove his worth, with headphones twice the size of my head, eyes glued to the computer screen, and body moving to the rhythm of the music. I was listening to Coldplay and thinking to myself, Holy fuck! This band rocks! It was at that moment that I had an epiphany – If you don’t listen to music that can be played on an instrument, Die!

“Any form of cheating, or attempting to cheat… Copying or attempting to copy… is punishable by death”

Fuck! I was back in that bloody hell hall. What is it with these goddamn people always repeating the same goddamn instruction? Do they think that we are nothing but senseless animals desperately in need of constant reminding? Or is this just one of those stupid legal disclaimer things that have to be said?

In no time, half the hall was empty and a stack of papers was starting to pile in front. The rest of us poor souls still seated had less than an hour before we will be forcefully thrown out into the cold, whether or not we were ready for it.

The decision to flee this hell came sudden. I’m pretty sure the fact that I had nothing more to write had something to do with it. I quietly put my sheets together and walked to the front of the hall were a suspicious looking man with an ugly tag around his neck that says “INVIGILATOR” collected my papers. He gave me a list that says “ATTENDANCE” on the top, and says that I must sign it. I had no idea why, since I was clearly present and my goddamn papers were proof. Maybe it was another one of those stupid legal things again. All I wanted to do at that moment was sign his goddamn attendance list and leave the bloody hell hall!

Adios paper! I hope I don’t fucking see your goddamn ugly face ever again!

3 Responses to “The College Diary”


  1. 1 Drama October 7, 2008 at 11:28 pm

    COLDPLAY ROCKS MY WORLD! And whoever doesn’t like them needs to be medically or mentally checked! My assignments are killing me softly. I feel my creativity oozing out and down the drain. I’m loosing it!

    Management of uni n schs n colleges follow stupid rules eventhough it makes no sense because they got nothing better to do. I slaved my ass over my essay and u noe wat, my lecturer said to us, its ok we got no time to collect, hand in next wk. I wanted to throw my paper in her face. cow! i wasted precious sleeping time for her and her paper.

    I love ur blog, its so interesting n creative. I lost my creative juice. I need it back!

  2. 2 Ameeyn October 8, 2008 at 2:01 am

    Couldn’t you have just given her all the same… She could choose to mark it there and then, or keep it and force herself not to see it until next week :p

    The thing about creativity is… it’ll always come back. So hang in there, because I have a feeling when it comes rushing back into you, it’ll knock you off your feet 😉

  3. 3 nursarahlam October 22, 2008 at 11:44 pm

    I simply hate exams..


Leave a Reply

